The Carob Mill Museum
In the historic center of Limassol, west of the Medieval Castle and near the Old Port, the once carob warehouses now house the Lanitis Carob Mill Museum.
The building within the Lanitis Carob Mill complex was originally constructed in the late 1800’s. By the beginning of last century it was used by the trading company N.P Lanitis as a warehouse and later on converted into a carob mill in the late of 1920’s until 1960.The traditional milling apparatus is situated in the centre of the building which was restored and transformed in 2000 by the owning company, N.P. Lanitis Ltd, as a carob mill museum. Visitors can view items from sorting hoppers to scales and needles for sewing sacks to which carobs were transported.
The importance of carob trading for the Cyprus economy has been undoubtedly at its peak until the early 1960’s. Up to the end of the colonial era and before the advent of modern agriculture with large scale of irrigated crops like potatoes and citrus, carobs were among the island’s main agricultural exported products and a substantial source of foreign income. Thus the carob was named the “black gold” of Cyprus.